VW Beetle Forum banner

battery fuse box melting on 04 new beetle

87K views 44 replies 26 participants last post by  shaydogidog 
#1 ·
hello all,
i am new to the forum, and having a problem with my girlfriend's 2004 VW new beetle.
i have a 1966 mustang that i have restored, so i have some car knowledge...but the interworkings of a classic mustang are VASTLY different from that of a new bug, as i am finding out. everything is covered in plastic and it's hard to see what's going on under there.

with that said, i can see the problem, but am unsure of the solution...and even more unsure about the cause.
she went to leave this morning, and her car wouldn't start. sounded like her battery had died. so i popped the hood, got ready to jump start the bug, and quickly realized that there was a problem with the fuse box on top of the battery. the black wire looked like it had blown in half, and it had melted much of the plastic on the fuse box itself.

this is not the first time this has happened. she had this same problem last year, when we were living in maui. then, it was under warrenty, and she took it to the dealership on maui (cutter of maui, which was the only authorized VW dealer on the island, and was by far the world's worst car dealership....they have since went out of business). but since it was under warrenty then, we took it there and they supposedly fixed it. the guy said this was a common problem, and that they replaced the fuse box. i asked him what else they did...like "why did this short out in the first place" and he just shrugged and said these things happened, and that it was a common problem. so i think replacing the fuse box was sort of like putting a band aid on the problem, instead of really fixing it. because now it has happened yet again. unfortunately the car is no longer under warrenty, we are in florida, and the said service station is out of business.
and volkswagen customer service is completely worthless.