VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, had an issue and hoping for some insight. I have been using some coolant for a couple months, maybe a pint or 2 a week, when looking over everything, saw some leakage on the rear of the head by the exhaust manifold. I am assuming this is bad news :(

This is a 2001 Beetle with 2.0L AZG and 140k miles.

But it seems to be leaking around the smaller metal tube/manifold below the exhaust manifold. What is this, an emission pre-heater, some kind of coolant manifold, not sure so asking.

Not smoking, no water in oil or vice versa, and good compression across cylinders, so I got that going for me.

What you think, just throw in the towel and do the head gasket, or there something I can check to ensure this?

See pics for the leak areas.
Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
15,839 Posts
Before going that deep; I would confirm the coolant leak, where specifically, it is coming from. The best way to do this; is a cooling system pressure tester. For the head gasket; you can also, test with a chemical tester by seeing if the cooling system has combustion gases in it.

Radiator Pressure Tester Kit
Pittsburgh Automotive - Item#69258 (check online for a extra 20% off coupon)

http://t.harborfreight.com/radiator...258.html?utm_referrer=https://www.google.com/

Combustion leak tester

https://www.google.com/search?q=hea...hrome-mobile&espv=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en-US#imgrc=_

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hello all, had an issue and hoping for some insight. I have been using some coolant for a couple months, maybe a pint or 2 a week, when looking over everything, saw some leakage on the rear of the head by the exhaust manifold. I am assuming this is bad news :(

This is a 2001 Beetle with 2.0L AZG and 140k miles.