VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2004 New Beetle 1.8t with 116,000 that recently had a new head put on due to snapped timing belt. (stop laughing :))

Even when this car was new it seemed to have a valve tick on the next to last valve on the intake side and has been verified by an app I had on my phone for decibel reading. The old cams were used and the exhaust cam sprocket seal leaked like a drunk on 2 for 1 night. Being an engineer by trade and grew up in a motorcycle shop and being married for 28 years the moans and groans finally became to much to handle regarding the spots in the driveway.

Now I do understand that all my years spinning wrenches on motorcycles and the last 30 years engineering does in no way shape or form qualify me as a car mechanic BUT she has had 3 of these damn things over the last 10 years or so and I have replaced 9 window regulators 4 oil pick up tubes several of the cheap plastic so called hoses and my god only knows how many oil changes and little things that don't require much time since I work like a pack mule and don't have a whole lot of time to do major jobs but am confident in my abilities to do them.

Upon removing the leaking rear cam sprocket seal I noticed the man had dug a groove with a screw driver getting the seal out (trying to fix it when her did the job and gave up). MI have since taken emory cloth and a stone and gently gotten rid of the gouges and even took the time to go over the end lobe of the cam to ensure it's smooth as well and am about to put it all back together with new seals that I might add have the spring in them.

My question is should I bite the bullet and replace the cams or can I simply get them resurfaced? I have ordered a new lifter for the intake #3 side that I feel is causing the tick and would like to do this as painless as possible IF possible. :)