NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have my nephews 1.9 turbo diesel in my shop. I am a mechanic, but know little about vw diesels. (general I send vw customers to the dealer, but hey.. my nephew...) So here is the problems.
1. lack of power, High picked turbo whistle at idle, becomes a siren scream at 2000 rpm, check engine lights reads MAF but comes and goes. Drove it to a foreign repair shop and asked the owner what he thought. Well he didn't like vw diesels. But gave me some things to check. Here is what I found and did. I checked the air box, lines fittings, okay. I pulled what I think is the EGR which has a throttle valve, vac pod. Its bolted to the intake. It was blocked with grim and soot. The vac pod line was broken, the throttle plate would not operate. I completely cleaned it, blew out the exhaust tube, scraped out the intake, cleaned it with tooth brushes and parts cleaner. 2. reassembled parts, started, ran, seemed to have better throttle response. Then an odd sound, resembled a cat convertor rattle. Turbo kicked in and out at 2000 rpm then IMAG0265.jpg

IMAG0266.jpg

IMAG0267.jpg a clank, crunch, no more noises. 3. A few minutes later, a heavy grayish white smoke. White is normally water burning, but this smells like old engine oil, not sweet like antifreeze burning. Revived it up and sparks, and flames shot out, when idled down you can hear fumes burning in the exhaust system. Black soot on the ground from the exhaust. Completely floods the lot with smoke. I have some ideas of what happened, but just guesses right now. 4. BAD TURBO? oil seal on turbo shaft, bad turbo bearings, plugged cat convertor. Anyone have the same problems or results.

·
Wife's 01 1.8T mechanic
629 Posts