VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone,

New here and today's subject is a 98 Beetle that has been sitting for the past couple (2+) years. It runs rough when started, seems to smooth out under higher RPM's (sitting still), but smells of gas at idle. It ran well when it was parked I believe

Any input is appreciated, here are the codes it is throwing read by VAG Com, and now that I think about it, the throttle position sensor code was there when it was parked and running OK

Address 01: Engine Labels: 06A-906-018-AEG.lbl
Part No: 06A 906 018 JE
Component: MOTRONIC M5.9.2 AT V01
Coding: 00001
Shop #: WSC 01050
VCID: 6EDDC89A2A336B518C3-4ACE

9 Faults Found:
17952 - Angle Sensor 1 for Throttle Actuator (G187)
P1544 - 35-00 - Signal too Large
00282 - Throttle Position Actuator (V60)
27-00 - Implausible Signal
01165 - Throttle Body Control Module (J338)
55-00 - Adaptation Not Successful
16684 - Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected
P0300 - 35-10 - - Intermittent
16685 - Cylinder 1
P0301 - 35-10 - Misfire Detected - Intermittent
16684 - Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected
P0300 - 35-00 -
16685 - Cylinder 1
P0301 - 35-00 - Misfire Detected
16688 - Cylinder 4
P0304 - 35-10 - Misfire Detected - Intermittent
16688 - Cylinder 4
P0304 - 35-00 - Misfire Detected
Readiness: 0110 1101

Thanks!

Otto
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,839 Posts
I would start by draining the old gas; as gas gets old and the car will run poorly, get fresh gas.

Otherwise, a cleaning of the throttle body and a alignment, would be a good idea.

See how things run; after that.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
OK, well I found there was an ignition wire missing, and when I put one on it certainly helped the idle problem! Car seems to run very well, I just have a couple codes left. I have read the ross tech TPS instructions and tried to do them, but it says you have to start with no codes, and I can clear the codes when the car is running, it comes back pretty quickly, and if I shut it off with the codes gone, it shows up immediately upon turning the key to the on position. I can't get these final codes to clear up. I have not yet removed and cleaned the throttle body.

Here is what VCDS tells me:

Address 01: Engine Labels: 06A-906-018-AEG.lbl
Control Module Part Number: 06A 906 018 JE
Component and/or Version: MOTRONIC M5.9.2 AT V01
Software Coding: 00001
Work Shop Code: WSC 01050
VCID: 6EDDC89A2A336B4EBF-4ACE
Fault Codes have been Erased

1 Fault Found:
00282 - Throttle Position Actuator (V60)
27-00 - Implausible Signal

and this one, these are from two different times

1 Fault Found:
01165 - Throttle Body Control Module (J338)
55-00 - Adaptation Not Successful

Readiness: 0110 1101

Maybe I am doing something wrong with the software?

Thanks for you insight and help!

Otto
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,839 Posts
I would start by removing and throughly cleaning the throttle body; look at the prerequisites for being able to run a TBA with VCDS:

There are certain test conditions that must be met before doing a TBA:

No DTC's in the Engine Controller
Battery voltage at least 11.5 V
Throttle must be at idling position (keep your foot off the gas pedal)
Throttle body part must not be dirty (carbonized).
Coolant temperature must be between 5 and 95C
If fault codes were cleared cycle the ignition off and back on prior to running Basic Settings.

http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/Throttle_Body_Alignment_(TBA)

You can also (if you cannot get it to work with VCDS); try to just put the ignition, to the "on" position and wait, until the throttle body noises stop.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
OK, I have the throttle body off the car, there seems to be a ridge in the throttle body, possibly holding the butterfly valve open a bit? THe plastic stop on the side does NOT go all the way to the stop on the aluminum body, should I shave or file or hone out the ridge?

Thanks!

Photos are at the link below

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/a4fbxvtcpp6knad/AAB1e5Vdtag330nUU91ZESxIa?dl=0
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Upon further inspection, I think the ridges are supposed to be there. I have cleaned it out, it was not all that bad I don't think, and am now charging the battery to get the voltage where it should be. I have left the cover off so I can see if it is moving when the key is turned
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,839 Posts
Good, it looks like your TB might have had carbon build up. I used a old toothbrush; to clean my TB. Let us know, how the TBA procedure goes! :)

Note: while not necessary; a new throttle body gasket, might not be a bad idea (probably the original one). I picked one up; at my local Autozone, I think a Felpro gasket was less than $5.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
after cleaning and clearing and fixing the vacuum leak at the brake booster - hose was split- these are the codes I get, and I can't get VCDS to calibrate the throttle, it just says error in the last field. Also I don't hear the throttle body move when I turn the key on. Should I check voltage to the wires to the bottom of it or something? Maybe it is not getting power for some reason?

Thanks!

Saturday,28,November,2015,08:33:38:42094
VCDS Version: Release 15.7.1 (x64) Running on Windows 7 x64
Ross-Tech: Home

Address 01: Engine Labels: 06A-906-018-AEG.lbl
Control Module Part Number: 06A 906 018 JE
Component and/or Version: MOTRONIC M5.9.2 AT V01
Software Coding: 00001
Work Shop Code: WSC 01050
VCID: 6EDDC89A2A336B4EBF-4AB4
2 Faults Found:

01165 - Throttle Body Control Module (J338)
55-10 - Adaptation Not Successful - Intermittent
17952 - Angle Sensor 1 for Throttle Actuator (G187)
P1544 - 35-00 - Signal too Large
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,839 Posts
Well, sometimes with a persistent fault; the ecu will get stuck with a code but you can try a hard reset, to clear it. Remove, the positive and negative battery cables; touch them together for 30 seconds and that will clear the ecu, reinstall back on the battery. See, if that helps; if it doesn't, there maybe a hardware failure related to the trouble codes or something in the list of prerequisites are not being met. :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
OK, did the hard reset, I still get this code below and it doesn't seem like I can get the VCDS to do the calibration, I get ERROR and it doesn't seem like the TB moves at all when I change screens when I am looking at 098 measuring blocks

Tuesday,01,December,2015,12:07:11:42094
VCDS Version: Release 15.7.1 (x64) Running on Windows 7 x64
Ross-Tech: Home

Address 01: Engine Labels: 06A-906-018-AEG.lbl
Control Module Part Number: 06A 906 018 JE
Component and/or Version:
Software Coding:
Work Shop Code:
VCID: 6EDDC89A2A336B4EBF-4AB4
Fault Codes have been Erased

1 Fault Found:
00282 - Throttle Position Actuator (V60)
27-00 - Implausible Signal

Readiness: 0110 1101
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Just got this code too

Tuesday,01,December,2015,12:14:46:42094
VCDS Version: Release 15.7.1 (x64) Running on Windows 7 x64
Ross-Tech: Home

Address 01: Engine Labels: 06A-906-018-AEG.lbl
Control Module Part Number: 06A 906 018 JE
Component and/or Version:
Software Coding:
Work Shop Code:
VCID: 6EDDC89A2A336B4EBF-4AB4
Fault Codes have been Erased

1 Fault Found:
17973 - Throttle Actuator (J338)
P1565 - 35-00 - Lower Stop not Reached

Readiness: 0110 1101
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
THe car has a crappy battery in it and I am using a crappy jumper pack, this could be a problem from what I am reading. Also the car isn't up to temp. I was trying this cold. Maybe that is a problem too?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,839 Posts
As noted before; each on of the prerequisites MUST be met, before the TBA can be successfully done. While, I do not know; what prerequisite or problem, is causing the failure to initiate the TBA, anything is possible. For the battery; check your voltage with a multimeter, you can get these anywhere many times for less than $10-$20. A cheap ELM327 obd II wireless adapter (check on amazon) and a app; could tell you what the temps are and charging volts, plus allot of other pertinent info (for around $20-$30 total).

This type of info; is already accessible by VCDS as well; you can confirm this info (look at "group 01" in the measuring blocks).

http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/tour/m-blocks.php

00282 - Ross-Tech Wiki

17973/P1565/005477 - Ross-Tech Wiki
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top