VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The dealer had it for 3 weeks and all they could come up with was the fuel pump was overheating. They did not replace it because the car cranked after it cooled down and continued to crank. That was back in November 2014 and now it's doing it again. I was thinking about changing the fuel pump myself rather than going back to them. Any suggestions from the field. Sorry so lengthy but this is my first time doing this.

·
Registered
15,839 Posts
There are a number of issues; that could cause a no start condition. Have you scanned the car with a scan tool? Immobilizer and crank sensor failures, ignition switch failures; can cause the car, to not start (these are separate issues from the fuel pump). You could start by testing the fuel pump with a fuel pressure gage. Here is a thread that should help you with troubleshooting and testing, new fuel pump info:

http://newbeetle.org/forums/2-0-liter-gas/105681-fuel-pressure-question.html#post1198929

Which engine and transmission; does you new beetle have? Please update; your vehicle profile info, that way we can help you more intelligently, in the future! Thanks!

PS: if you had a genuine vw fuel pump part installed; I believe there is a one year/12k mile warranty on the part, if in fact it failed.

Parts Limited Warranty.

Warranty replacement parts are covered within the remaining portion of the New Vehicle Limited Warranty or within 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever is greater.

Customer-purchased parts are covered within 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first, beginning on the date of sale to the retail customer. If the part is installed, the installation date is considered the retail date.