VW Beetle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!
First time posting on this forum, picked up a Cabriolet beetle in laser blue for my first car, Now after some driving time in it I notice she starts to emit white smoke when hot, especially if sitting for a while. I took of Oil cap and noticed the dreaded chocolate milk residue. Coolant looks pink and fine. I also noticed a lot of oil coming from the valve cover and all over the front of the engine. Just want to make sure im on the right track with Blown head gasket. I've priced up components , (Head Bolts, valve cover gasket, head gasket and manifold gaskets for about ~£50) I have some experience with mechanics, (Motorcycles) and will give it a go if it needs doing, looks rather simple on these engines, what do you think? Am i on right track? I'll keep this thread updated :) <3

photo_2021-05-04_16-33-28 (2).jpg

photo_2021-05-04_16-33-28.jpg

photo_2021-05-04_18-30-19.jpg

·
Registered
14,566 Posts
I would start with trying a combustion leak test of the cooling system and then, if the test shows there is a issue; a cylinder leak down test, could pinpoint the problem.

Here in the states, auto parts stores; will loan these types of tools out for free. They, do not cost much; if they need to be purchased.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Pulled the plugs and did a compression test....Not sure how useful it was as i had to use that PUSH-IN style adapter as there is no way u can reach to screw in a better one due to manifold.
From 1-4 the PSI was 175 - 150 - 125 -190 Lowest possible PSI is 110 with a 30% variation, but again, how accurate the cylinder 2 and 3 are...well who knows...lol. still waiting for the CO2 sniffer.

photo_2021-05-05_12-45-16.jpg
photo_2021-05-05_12-45-24.jpg
photo_2021-05-05_12-45-55.jpg
photo_2021-05-05_12-46-13.jpg

·
Registered
14,566 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·