NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a noob - I have a 2009 NB and I live in New England where snow is an issue. I downsized the regular 205/55/16 summer tire to 195/55/16 All-season (a little narrower for better traction in deeper snow). Now my tire-pressure light is on and won't go away. Is there a way to either re-calibrate or disable the sensor?

Thanks

·
Registered
43 Posts
Always start with the simple stupid stuff.

Did you check the tire pressures ? If the pressures are good then maybe one of the sensors got damaged while changing tires ?

·
Registered
950 Posts
- Tire pressure is in fact low. Measure and fill your tires when you have not driven for several hours. The indicated inflation values on your Beetle (found in the driver's door on a sticker or on the gas door on a sticker) are for cold tire pressure. Warm gasses expand, cold gasses contract. So if you fill a warm tire, when it cools down the pressure is going to drop.

- TPMS was not correctly reconnected after changing the tires.

- TPMS is not meant to be a replacement for a tire gauge and proper maintenance. Inspect your tires weekly or before any major trip.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
- Tire pressure is in fact low. Measure and fill your tires when you have not driven for several hours. The indicated inflation values on your Beetle (found in the driver's door on a sticker or on the gas door on a sticker) are for cold tire pressure. Warm gasses expand, cold gasses contract. So if you fill a warm tire, when it cools down the pressure is going to drop.

- TPMS was not correctly reconnected after changing the tires.

- TPMS is not meant to be a replacement for a tire gauge and proper maintenance. Inspect your tires weekly or before any major trip.
Thanks much for the quick feedback. The tire pressures are at spec. Tires were filled cold. Is there a process for TPMS disconnection prior to changing tires?

Thanks

LAR

·