NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. I appreciate any help in advance. 1999 vw beetle, auto with about 110k miles. Found a great deal on it I couldn't pass up. Originally believed to be a bad starter issue has turned out to be a seized AC compressor, that was giving the impression of a locked up engine. Started checked good. And I was able to get the engine to turn freely once the serpentine belt was removed. Compressor seems toast (seized).
My question, in order to get the car running (low on funds to replace the compressor at this time, might wait until summer anyway) is there any way to Free it up, or to maybe replace it with a pulley mounted on a bracket? I have seen Compressor bypass brackets and pulleys for other cars (including the Passat in other sites) but so far no luck with anything for my beetle. Any ideas?
-Alan

·
Registered
2,231 Posts
Maybe you could replace or repair the A/C clutch. Then the pulley should turn freely even if the compressor is frozen.

·
Premium Member
1,086 Posts
Edit_2012-06-05_011.jpg .

Sounds like the a/c clutch is also frozen.

The picture is of the ribbed belt routing bottom is with a/c. If you can remove the clutch from the compressor or remove the compressor from its mounts and secure it out of the way of the belt and fans it would give you some time to gather funds for the repair.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Re:

Thanks for the ideas... Didn't realize I could just use the same belt, and remove the clutch, and be able to keep her running. Sounds like what I am going to do. Hopefully I can figure out if its a seized bearing, or a seized clutch, and still be able to keep her running in the meantime.

·
nancyhoffman
2 Posts