NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there,

I am a college student looking to buy a used beetle. I am looking to buy a 2004-2006 bug with approx. 12 000 miles/per year on it, and will be driving it for about 5 years. As a student I am looking to keep my costs down, and would appreciate advice on what to look for on the car, things to get and not to get in order to keep operating costs low. In your response, please list your experience with beetles. Thank you very much!

Hailey

·
Registered
444 Posts
Gosh, don't know which models would be the best bet by year of car, but from reading on here extensively, I get the idea that it's best to stay away from the automatic transmission at all costs! You're probably gonna have to do some searching on your own to find your answer.

·
Registered
444 Posts
Wow, I had the distinct feeling that Hailey was really looking to find out which NB would be the best car to buy to save money, that would be reliable and since she has to make it last for 5 years a GOOD car is the most important thing. Does anybody know THAT info? Probably consmetics would be secondary in importance. :rolleyes:

·
Premium Member
4,753 Posts
A NB should not be in your immediate future!

Either an old, restored VW air-cooled (experience with ownership of three), if your looking for a "novelty" car, or a Toyota, Honda, Hyundai (all good, dependable, low operating cost, fuel efficient vehicles). NB, (experience with ownership of three) is a poor choice for a college student on a limited budget (experience as father of one). You might be fine if you were to buy a new one, but one with, in excess of 80k miles, change your thought pattern!

I'm sure this will piss off a lot of my friends here on the Org, but this is simply sound "fatherly" advice.

M.

·
Registered
119 Posts