·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a licened mechanic but havent much vw experience,
my wifes aunt has a 2001 beetle, 2.0l manual azg code
its been all over her hometown for a no start condition,
she got fed up with paying for nothing,
so far theyve put new coil (could of been cracked)
new fuel pump assy, plugs, wires, fuel pump relay.
heres what its doing,
it has spark, it has fuel pressure
the EPC light is on
it has no power at the injectors
no power at fuses 32, 34, 43
its also throwing codes P0223 throttle pedal position sensor
P0638 throttle actuator control range
P0118 coolant temp sensor
I do not have a VAG com, i could buy if i have to but other than her car i dont know if i would use it too much.
I do have a matco scanner
it will not run at all right now
I did buy a subscrition to alldata (for wiring info)
key on engine off the data stream is saying the throttle is at 62% and the coolant temp is at -40
so i'm thinking its missing some power some where
and im getting a little lost/frustrated
so really i am truly sorry if this is a dumb newb question
but i really do appreciate any help you could give me
thanks in advance

·
Everett Street in May
3,207 Posts
Start with a coolant sensor and clean and reset the throttle.

Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Good starting point, but you will need a VAG software tool in order to re-set the throttle body unfortunately.

But, another place to start is directly above the gas pedal. These are drive by wire (which you already know), but if the assembly at the pedal is not working correctly, then the signal stops at that point.

Example is that in the manual transmission car's, their is a connector for the clutch plunger in order to send the electric signal to the starter. If that connector is compromised, no signal goes to the starter and the entire ignition system grounds "open".