NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I changed out the timing belt and components on my 2.0L 2002 Beetle. Rusted and striped bolts made it a job and a half but I got it done and I am pretty confident in my timing I TDCd the engine with a tool so I'm sure its right on the money, I triple checked that the cam gear was in line with its timing mark, and I counted and matched the teeth on the belt. But when I put it all back together I found my self with a new problem. When I start the beetle it fires for but a second or two and then instantly dies. I did changed the plugs while I was under the manifold (My fat fingers had a hard time puting in the TDC tool with out taking off the intake). When I hand crank the engine when I get to a certain point I hear air coming from somewhere under the intake. So my thought it maybe a loose plug or injector. But I am not a expert nor a car guy. Just broke and can't afford a mechanic. So sine it is to dark and cold out to keep messing with it tonight I figured I would put the issue out there to see what yalls suggestions or thoughts are

·
Registered
13,867 Posts
Basics, ignition spark, fuel pressure and compression. Have you scanned for trouble codes and is the immobilizer light flashing in the speedo cluster (this would indicate the immo is kicking on; which kills the ignition spark, after a couple of seconds)? It is not uncommon, to hook up the gas lines backwards after repairs and this can cause a no start condition. Let us know, what you find; report back and we can go from there, thanks.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi all,

Thanks for the replies. I got out here today a d started messing with it. I dont see anything that is unhooked. I do have the intake unbolted so i can get to the plugs and injectors while checking everything. Would that cuase any issues?