NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at buying a 2001 Beetle with 90K miles, turbo, automatic.I'm new to VW's, but not DIY working on cars. This needs to be a very reliable car for my daughter driving long distances at night alone, so I'll take input on how reliable you think this model usually is. Unreliable but fun is OK for me, but not for my daughter :)

So, I need to know what to check on this model/year that's sort of Beetle specific and/or what's expensive to fix that might be an issue at purchase.

I've seen some threads mentioning the water pump. What's the expected replacement interval on the pump, and how big a job is it to do DIY? Any way to assess at purchase ?

How about the transmission? I saw some posts indicating the auto transmission was not very good, but I don't like to make assumptions from a couple opinions. Are the auto tranny's trouble? Any way to tell if you have a good one or bad? Should there have been some maintenance done on it along the way? How expensive are the repairs when needed?

Any other pointers or advice appreciated.

Thanks,

·
Registered
3,690 Posts
Not sure what to tell you, we bought our 2003 convertible new and it has been hands down the absolute worst car I have ever owned.

At 70k miles, oil pick up clogged even with Mobile One synthetic every 5k miles, 6 speed valve body ate itself up, but luckily no trans damage, thermostat failed, air pump pipes broke, plastic check valves failed, center exhaust hanger welds broken (easy fix with 2 hose clamps), seat belt buckles caused air bag light error just to name a few. The good news is none of these problems caused breakdown or to be stranded.

Now that being said, if I take away all the convertible/window related problems, here is what I will tell you.

If you but the car, you NEED to do the following.