VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Couple of questions: cross posted

2010 VW New Beetle Convertible

1.Need to buy catalytic converter heat shield but how do I know I’m purchasing the correct one? Dealer wants $300 installed.
2. Is this something that I can replace on my own? Is it bolted on or welded?

I’m new to owning a beetle and also very new to trying to fix things myself
Wheel Tire Car Automotive parking light Vehicle

·
Registered
18,118 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Looks like it might be this?

Catalytic Converter Heat Shield. Converter AND pipe protector. PROT PLATE.
VW part #: 1J0253243M

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
18,118 Posts
Do you want you fix it yourself or have a shop handle it? The VW dealer is the most expensive option; you maybe able to install it yourself or a muffler or any place with a lift could handle it for much less. A visual inspection, is in order; that could help figure out how to attach it and see if there is any damage. Sometimes, they get scraped or torn off; by road debris or hitting something.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I was hoping I could fix myself but wasn’t sure how it was actually attached. And can’t seem to find the info anywhere. Is it welded or bolted? I have ramps so can get under easily enough. It seems to always be something with the “Garden Bug”.

·
Registered
18,118 Posts

Well, maybe time to put it on the ramps and go look. Some of the exploded views show bolts holding them on?

Like many things, you need to look on your particular car and see how things are; this is assuming you still have the original vw catalytic converter intact.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
That schematic is helpful. I am going to put on ramps this weekend to check out. You are always so knowledgeable and helpful. You helped me a few years back when I was working on my daughters 2002 vw beetle.

·