NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi newbie here with a question :)

My daughter has a 2002 VW beetle 2.0L GLS automatic. She put some gas in it and didn't click the fuel cap down - end result was she got a CEL.

No problem I thought - just get out my scanner and clear it.
Here's the thing though - no stored codes showed, so I hit clear and the CEL went out as expected.

Problem is it came right back on when I restarted the engine again with no stored codes.

She's been running it for about a week with the CEL on - so I cleared it again, but instantly came back on with an engine re-start.

Any suggestions ? I'm thinking a trip down to autozone to use their reader in case mine is missing something.

Other than the CEL the bug seems to be running fine - it has 54,000 miles on the clock.

·
Probably MIA
2,800 Posts
Generic OBD scanners (including those at Autozone etc) don't always pick up everything.

VCDS would be best to see what is going on. The light might not be related to the gas cap being loose.

·
Former Dodge Mechanic
7 Posts
Generic OBII scanners are not very good with EVAP code in some platforms. VAG COM would be your best bet. Not saying that it is an EVAP code, but it does sound like it.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
A little bit of progress and a couple of questions...

Luckily I had a OBD II cable from my pocket logger which I was able to hook up to my laptop and run VAGCOM 3.11.

Found that I have a P1650 - 35 code which when cleared turns of the MIL.

This code tells me its missing a message from the instrument cluster.

Not too sure where to go from here - even though I'm an experienced electronics engineer :) Sounds like a loose connection maybe ?

Also under readiness I found a bunch of failed / incomplete messages for the following:
O2 heating
O2 sensor
Secondary Air injection
Evap emissions
Catalyzer

Readiness 0110 1101