NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. Before I begin, I must state that I'm not a mechanic at all. We bought a 2003 Beetle for our daughter (a decision I regret). We've had more than our share of trouble with it. Our latest issue is extremely rough idle and cel came on.
During the rough idle, there is a loud clicking noise coming out of the metal piece at the center of the picture where the big black hose and the smaller hose connects on top.
What is that and how can I address the issue? I can't afford taking it to the dealership so any help is greatly appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,271 Posts
The part you are referring to is the Throttle body. Let's hope that isn't your issue since that part is close to $600 dollars.
First thing I would do is take it to Autozone and have it scanned for codes. Make sure they give you the codes and not just what it might be. The Actual code numbers will help us give you some advice on what it could be.
Rough idle could be many things especially on a 1.8 which has tons of vacuum lines that could be failing plus it has coil packs on each spark plug which could also be a problem. There was a recall once for the coil packs of 2001+ years New Beetle's. Anyway, anything at this point is pure speculation and we really need a point to start. So get it scanned and post the codes and then we can continue.

PS: How many miles on the Beetle? Does it have a manual or automatic transmission? When is the last time the timing belt and water pump service was performed?
Also where are you located? Perhaps there is somebody close that can lend you a hand.

·
Registered
4,271 Posts