NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Want to do a drive.
1,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There is this click or Clunk I hear almost every morning when I'm warming up my car. It will happen just before it does it's kick down to 800rpm around 90 temp. Sometimes it will do the kick down smooth other times the noise. Any ideas on what it could be?

·
Want to do a drive.
1,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
SAI pump?
Not sure, but I heard a golf with a bad sai and it's nothing like this. Maybe his was really bad, but his made a horrible air release sound

·
Registered
937 Posts
A broken or leaking pump would make an air release sound, but there are valves related to the pump that could go bad and possibly make the noise you are talking about. I just thought of the SAI first as you say it makes the sound as the RPMs drop which is about the time the SAI valves are "doing their thing" for lack of a better term. I'm not a professional so I could be WAAYY off:confused:

·
Want to do a drive.
1,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
A broken or leaking pump would make an air release sound, but there are valves related to the pump that could go bad and possibly make the noise you are talking about. I just thought of the SAI first as you say it makes the sound as the RPMs drop which is about the time the SAI valves are "doing their thing" for lack of a better term. I'm not a professional so I could be WAAYY off:confused:
Hasn't done it in a few days now, when I listen for it, it doesn't do it. Grrr.

·
Want to do a drive.
1,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It is more of a metal to metal sound that an air release.

·
Registered
248 Posts