NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to say great site and I'm new to the new VW scene. Is there any way to disable the daytime running lights on the 2001 1.8t beetle? :confused:

·
Super Moderator
8,917 Posts
There are two ways....and we have the how-tos, but I need to transfer them to the new site.

IF you can wait a little while I will post and let you know when they are up or you can search the old Forums for "Disable DRL" - there is one way to disable with a particular relay under the dash and the other requires modifying your light switch (can't remember if you have to buy a euroswitch or not with that mod - I did the relay method).

·
big poster turned lurker.
9,487 Posts
You dont need a euroswitch, i did the bent pin method with my stock switch before i got a euroswitch, and it worked perfectly. All you do is pull out hte switch, and bend down, or tape over the "B" or "8" pin, i dont remember exactly what it was called.

·
Super Moderator
8,917 Posts
Now you're going to cut a small piece of electrical tape, relative to the width of the TFL pin we've identified. Take the piece of tape you've cut and cover the TFL pin, so there is no exposed metal showing that might make contact with the harness plug (pictured below). Some modders choose to bend-down this pin (achieving same result), but we do not recommend this. Using this method, you can re-enable the DRL's by simply removing the tape.
I'm working on getting it up now.

·
big poster turned lurker.
9,487 Posts