NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am a student that is "electrifying" a new beetle. I posted this in the miscellaneous section and it was suggested that I post it here.

My team and I are going to convert my new (new to me) 2000 New beetle to an electric drive system. I posted on the new member forum and there seemed to be some interest in the project and I wanted to get the word out and a little better description than just "I am a student..." so here goes

I am a student that is attending the Oregon Institute of Technology (OIT).

I started at OIT 4 years ago and am majoring in the Renewable Energy Engineering (REE) program here in Klamath Falls, OR. I immediately became interested in OIT when I heard about their REE program and even more so when I heard about the Oregon Renewable Energy Center (OREC). OREC is a lab that facilitates student projects and allows them to get hands on experience with projects which is where my story begins.

My second year at OIT I had the good fortune to become an employee at OREC, and was able to see what types of projects were being completed at the lab. There was a biodiesel generator, the solar trailer which is a mobile power supply that utilizes solar panels, and PEPE which is a little green electric vehicle. PEPE, which stands for Pure Electric Powered Engine, was out of commission and I was able to repair him and get him back out on the road. Ever since I started working on PEPE I knew that I wanted to build an electric car for my senior project.

It has been two years since I started working at OREC, and I am now a senior at OIT. I am going to be graduating this spring (Hopefully).