NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a used 1999 on the 6th, and it has been running beautifully until today when I was driving down the highway and the electrical system just shut down. (No warning whatsoever).The car was still running, but I could tell that the fuel pump was not working. Then, the radio and everything else shut off, but still the car was running (which was really, really odd). So, I pulled over, it stalled completely, and then when I turned the key off and back on, everything was fine. It started with no trouble and electrical was back up. No CEL or anything. I am just learning about this car, but it sounds like a sensor or a relay or something.

I had to start it up later to move it. Still no indicator lights or any hint of a problem. But, I know this will happen again.

·
131,000 miles!
440 Posts
I just bought a used 1999 on the 6th, and it has been running beautifully until today when I was driving down the highway and the electrical system just shut down. (No warning whatsoever).The car was still running, but I could tell that the fuel pump was not working. Then, the radio and everything else shut off, but still the car was running (which was really, really odd). So, I pulled over, it stalled completely, and then when I turned the key off and back on, everything was fine. It started with no trouble and electrical was back up. No CEL or anything. I am just learning about this car, but it sounds like a sensor or a relay or something.

I had to start it up later to move it. Still no indicator lights or any hint of a problem. But, I know this will happen again.
My car was kinda doing the same thing last week and it turned out I needed a new alternator..
My radio was going on and off, my speedo would stop working, everything would shut off.. Then I'd take my key out of the ignition and then crank my car again and everything would be fine

>>United States Air Force<<

·
Registered