NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
←Blue or Purple?
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1.8T 2002 NB Auto

My engine light came on at 34,440miles My NB still runs beautifully. It did this on a really humid day.

Things I have done out of the norm are put in Regular fuel to see if Gas milage changes. Actively accelerated below 3000rpm.

I have a faulty trunk latch. That while it "DOES" work. it makes a "Tick-Tick-Tick" sound after opening it.

Noticed that I have a blow off valve! lol (don't hear this to often on a Auto 1.8T, but noticed you hear it all the time on manuals, so I consider this normal) Sorry I'm a Turbo Newbie hehe I'ma Learnin!

My guess is it came on because I haven't taken it in to be serviced for 1 1/2 years. Since I bought it. Planned on taking it in for it's 40,000 soon. But I'm moving soon and begining to start school. (all personal, I know, but effects money :p)

Anyway, after I move I'm taking it to get serviced soon. You think this is something that can wait, since the car acts fine? Anybody have an ODB-II Diag in the Kansas City area? (another saving project I am working on lol)

Thanks for all your guys help!
XCman and BluMax

·
Bourgeoisie
309 Posts
So, uh, you haven't serviced the car for 1.5 years?

·
←Blue or Purple?
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
hmmm. Well I am mainly curious if Volkswagen has their cars turn on their Engine light if their cars haven't been hooked up to a diagnostic tool for so long or have not been serviced for awhile? or do they just go by error codes and concerns?

paultakeda said:
So, uh, you haven't serviced the car for 1.5 years?
Not at a Dealership no, I've been servicing it myself. Replacing and changing oil, filters, cleaning. doing the regular maintenance stuff myself.

·
Premium Member
580 Posts