VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also I've had the epc light come on not long ago and I'm not sure if this says anything as to why it appears

·
Registered
15,947 Posts
I am new to OBD Fusion; I downloaded it to my iPad the other day and am still playing with it, maybe jfoj can chime in on specific things, as he seems very familiar with it. As far as #10/ecu; maybe, that is how many computer/modules are in the car? Just a guess!?

Codes: I would recommend; looking up your trouble codes on the ross tech wiki: http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

The Wiki; has good, sometimes very specific VW related info, that other OBD II websites, do not have. This can be helpful; in troubleshooting and can bring insight to our VW specific issues. The site; doesn't always have every generic OBD I trouble code listed but I would start there, then use a typical google search for the hard to find ones (sometimes; adding "vw" in front of the trouble code number, can bring up more specific info).

16688/P0304/000772 - Cylinder 4 Misfire Detected

http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/16688/P0304/000772

A cylinder specific misfire; can be caused by a number of things, you can go down the list and start troubleshooting. The 2.0L; is known for coil pack issues and bad grounds to the coil (vw issued a tech bulletin; to update the ground).

Basic areas of interest would be as: spark plugs, spark plug wires, low cylinder compression, injectors, etc. can all be possibilities. Testing and inspection of the parts in question; viewing live data and fuel trims, are a good place to start. How is the car; currently running?

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·