NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Artsy Fartsy Bohemeanne
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:) I registered to this forum when I first bought my used new beetle in September but it has taken me this long to be able to post on here! I have a 3 year old son and I think somewhere along the lines when I registered for the site something went wrong and I wasn't allowed to post :confused: Anyway, I re-registered and here I am...finally.

So I am really excited to be here since I've wanted a new Beetle since they came out but that was the year I graduated High School and my parents said no way! I had a slew of crappy cars that I've gone through and now finally at the age of 30 I just got my 2003 Beetle which we lovingly refer to as "orange car". I want to keep her forever! Hopefully I'll learn some tricks on here to keep her running a very long time. So far I've only encountered a few minor issues-most I've read about on here already such as my alarm going off 5 times one evening but we think it was due to high winds. My check engine light came on once because I got some bad gas....and I don't mean from burritos....I mean I have to get mid-grade for her because around here the gas is strange sometimes. Also, I have a funny left turn signal because it flashes faster than the right which I was told was because someone put the wrong bulb in but I really don't know if that's true. And lastly, sometimes when I release the trunk either with the faub or by car button it doesn't pop open and I have to do it again. Sounds like the motor might be going. It ought to be fun if my groceries get stuck in there some day! Can't wait to talk to you all! Vrrroooom vrrroooom.......Hi! (as in the comercial I first remembered for the new beetle but no body else remembers!)

·
Premium Member
1,086 Posts
Welcome to the org.

Do you know when or if the timing belt, themostat and water pump were changed. If not they would be at the top of my maintenece list.

·
Premium Member