NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
1999 Beetle TDI
332 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How much fluid to replace it all? I will be doing several maintenance items on our bug(brake fluid flush,timing belt replacement,intake tube cleaning,etc)this winter and this is on my list for next up.. Going to use a pump and draw the brake fluid out but I need to know if anyone knows about how much fluid I'll need?

·
1999 Beetle TDI
332 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Can't find official number but previous thread mentions that a 1 liter bottle is enough.
Yeah several threads I have located on the net say about doing it,but so far none say how much fluid is required..Figures a couple bottles to make it safe. Thanks

·
Registered
149 Posts
Is a 1L bottle more than enough or is it "just enough"? I'm also planning on doing this soon, and since this is my first time I want to make sure I have more than enough in case I overdo it or miss something. I know I could buy 2L and be really safe, but then I heard brake fluid's shelf life is not that long (is that true?) so I can't store it for that long if I don't use it all.

·
Premium Member
1,086 Posts
Buy 2 to be safe. Do not open the second one unless one liter is not enough. The sealed one should be able to be returned.

·
1999 Beetle TDI
332 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
And use DOT 4 fluid. You can use Dot 3 or Dot 4. I run the 4 in my 70 Buick racecar and it works great..

·
Premium Member
4,753 Posts
Here's what is in the Book as regards fluid specification and storage. I don't believe shelf life is an issue, however moisture absortion is. Nothing about system capacity, and I suspect really hard to gauge how much will be used bleeding all the air from the system.

M.

Attachments

·
Registered
25 Posts