VW Beetle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all new TDI owner here.

I am not a mechanic and not super mechanically inclined so basically I just want to make sure I'm not getting screwed.

I have a 03 TDI beetle 1.9L

Not to long ago it stopped running, would crank but not turn over. Took it in was told it was the fuel pump. Was quoted a price of $700. A week went by no car so I call. He tells me that when they went to replace the pump it was not under the backseat like they typically are. He tells me that apparently my model is a transition model. The fuel pump is in the front. He tells me that the part alone is 3400. He says that luckily he found a used one for like 600 and the total is somewhere around 1200.

So bottom line has anyone heard of this? How many hours of labor is a fuel pump? He looks like hes charging about 4 or 5 hours plus incidentals. Have yall heard of a transition model with sky high prices on the parts? Need your help...don,t let me get screwed!

Also if anyone knows a good TDI mechanic in San Antonio please message me his name.

Thanks!

·
5/23/10 <3
11,212 Posts
Sounds like he doesn't know TDIs. They don't have a fuel pump under the back like a gasoline car. The "fuel pump" is the injection pump, which yes, is in the front. I don't know where he's getting that its $3400. That's ridiculous.

Also, why did he say it was the pump? Injection pumps can be a problem, but I have seen way too many cases of mechanics just saying its the issue when its not because they don't know how to troubleshoot a TDI. Did he scan for codes?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sounds like he doesn't know TDIs. They don't have a fuel pump under the back like a gasoline car. The "fuel pump" is the injection pump, which yes, is in the front. I don't know where he's getting that its $3400. That's ridiculous.