NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone,

Since a few months, my 2002 2.0 NB is doing only 400 km per tank instead of the usual 550 km, which is quite a decrease. Tire pressure OK, and it's not because of winter since this started some months ago. Timing belt was replaced in 2009, spark plugs two years ago along with the coil pack (but not the wires). Fuel filter replaced about 4 years ago, air filter brand new, wheels and brakes OK (not stuck), and no check engine on. Car feels jerky on accelerations, as if in need of air or fuel - unfortunately hard to say for me as I'm not a mechanic. Also, injectors were cleaned for the first time just a month ago - not much difference though.

So what could it be ? Is there any possibility that Check Engine would not lit and I'm running on three cylinders ? I would think it's impossible, but I'm not sure... Any other ideas or clues ? Crankshaft or camshaft position sensor wrong ?

Thanks a lot in advance for any help.

·
5/23/10 <3
11,171 Posts
I would try scanning for codes. Not everything triggers a CEL.

·
Registered
3,690 Posts
Plenty of things can cause the engine to run poorly and impact fuel economy without ever triggering a CEL.

So the first thing you need is an OBDII scan tool that can read Live/Real Time data and Freeze Frame info.

Long Term Fuel Trims and finger printing O2 sensors can be helpful. See graph of a lazy Bank 1, Sensor 1 on a car that had no CEL but the Emission Readiness Monitors would not clear for the O2 sensors.

$35 or under, see the first link below in my signature.

The single biggest item overlooked when it comes to fuel economy is the engine temperature. Soft thermostats are overlooked all the time. You need an OBDII scan tool to monitor the engine temperature. Engine should reach about 205F at idle after about 10 minutes of driving from cold. See the 2nd link below in my signature for Thermostat and Temp info.