NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
He who walks on Ice!
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the VW world. I am going tomorrow to buy a 2004 Beetle Turbo. It's black with creme interior. It has 68,000 miles and I'm getting a good deal on it. I'm use to having sporty cars and this is going to be a change. Coming from a 3000gt Vr4 to this will take some getting use to, but the wife loves the Beetle. What are some bolt on upgrades that can be done and what are some things about this car that I need to take in consideration. I do know of one flaw on this car. The spoiler is not working, I don't know if there is a cable or what...but, it it seems disconnected from the electric motor. Other than that, the car in in great condition. How hard is it to hook up a disc changer? It only has the Monsoon with cassette. Like I said, I'm new to these cars. Great advice would be wonderful!

·
Super Moderator
14,714 Posts
Welcome to the Org, :wave2: and Welcome to the New Beetle! :party:

You are at the right corner of the web, to meet great people, learn all about your new-to-you New Beetle, and get some technical help from experts. Congrats for finding us! :lol:

Since I am the "queen of stock", I cannot help with mods. The only mods I do are Monster Mats, bra, and roof rack. :eek:

The trunk mounted CD changer is a snap to set up. But, it may be worthwhile to just get a new HU.

We Love Pics! :D

·
Registered
553 Posts
Welcome to the forum and congrats on the beetle. Before you consider the disc changer you might want to budget in a new timing belt and idler bearings with water pump. The VW is notorious for loosing timing belts early. The 1.8l turbo is very expensive to repair once you loose a belt. If the deal is not done, you might want the dealer to do the work and work in the price.

·
Registered
553 Posts
How much does labor go for to replace TB,WP?