VW Beetle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there guys... I have a 2002 TS. Yesterday i was running my car and suddenly i heard a weird sound on the motor... something like metal breaking, just like when u cut with an electric saw... I open the hood and look that my motor was almost falling from the passenger side, i took out the timming belt cover and saw the problem... i though it was the motor mount but no... Its the part that the motor mount holds... the bolt breaks right flush to the motor block. My question is, what causes this? for fixing it, do i have to take the whole motor out and drill out the rest of the bolt? what bolt you guys recommend for this?

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
14,811 Posts
Yikes! :eek:

I'm no mechanic. If you think you can do it yourself, great.

If you think you need help, find a reputable independant VW shop in your area. They will do you right.

Good luck. I hope it's not too bad! :(

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well... im not doing it by myself... i just want to know how the work should be done and why happened. hehe but yea... it looks bad

·
Registered
712 Posts
Motor mount bolts are TTY bolts and one time use. They are known to fail on the MKIV platform about 10-20k miles after a timing belt change if the were not replaced. It is also recommended to replace the mount every second timing belt because the aluminum threads start to strip leading to a failure. TtY bolts stretch and must be replaced every time. Most but not all VW's use them in almost all engine and dynamic rotating components. Good timing belt kits will have new bolts. Good clutch kits will have new bolts. Good axle kits will have new bolts. Doggone bolts. Tranny bolts. Struts. Shocks. All these are one time TTY. Buy them at dealer or online vendors such as ecstuning. Dealer prices are usually the same plus no shipping and in stock.

·
Gustav
349 Posts