NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted this on the other forum, but I think it belongs here.

Anyway, I've been hearing rattling noises under my car for a couple of months now, but it's not consistent. The sound is coming from the front either by the wheels or mid section, but certainly not from behind. I usually hear this rattling/grinding sound when I accelerate from a complete stop. For example: I drive for 30-40mph, stop at a red light, wait a few minutes at the light, then when I accelerate I hear the noise. After accelerating for few a seconds, the rattling sound goes away and everything sounds normal. There is no grinding sound if I stop and don't idle for a few minutes.

I recorded the "rattling/grinding" sound. If you have time, please listen to it and let know if it sounds familiar.

Basically, in a empty lot, I drove 20-35mph, stopped for 2 min (to simulate stopping at a red light), then accelerate again.

In the MP3 file, you should hear the "rattling/grinding" at the beginning of each acceleration, but it goes away soon after. The sound is distinct and you should be able to distinguish it from the normal engine/exhaust. I edited the sound to include four samples.

Sound Sample (25sec):
http://www.renderphase.com/site/temp/nbsoundgrind.mp3
Right-Click and save-as

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Car: 1999 NB 2.0L GLS ~35K

·
Banned
1,258 Posts
It could be tie-rod ends going. I a problem like that with my '74. It woudl occour around a certain speed, then just go away.

·
Beetle Cup racer
567 Posts
My down pipe gasket sounded pretty much the same it had a very small leak and the sounds is similar, wait a week or so if it gets worse....the gasket has a leak and has to be replaced

·
Eine Kleine Panzer
210 Posts
When a cat coverter is going bad it also sounds like rocks rattling in a can.

·
a.k.a. porkchopzz4
890 Posts