NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey yall! I'm pretty new to the BUG LIFE so please excuse me if I get something wrong. I'm Garrick, I'm 18 and I live in Houston. Well I've always wanted a bug, but everytime I was close to buying one, something would always happen, like unemployment, or catastrophic engine failure. Well who cares about that, because I finally have one and I love him. About three weeks ago, I got a job at a local VW dealership, which finally allowed me to pay a car note. So I went on a hunt for my perfect bug. I had been a big fan of the Turbo S for a while, so I knew I just had to have one. Well the problem was there were only three listed on Craigslist in Houston. Only one was completely stock. So after what seemed like eons of waiting in the dealership, I finally obtained the keys to my 2002 Reflex Silver??? Beetle Turbo S with 145,000 miles. I named him Gumball. Not after the race, but after the blue cat on Cartoon Network.He's got some blemishes, but I have a lot in store for him, but since I'm new to owning a Beetle, I have a few questions. What should be replaced, since hes a mileage vehicle and all? Is it normal for it to smell like a box of crayons? Every bug I've sat in has smelled the same. Does anyone know any good headlight restoration kits? Because I want to run HID's, but I dont want to use them with dirty lenses. That's all for now. (The red eclipse and tan s10 are my previous cars)

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,454 Posts
Welcome Gumball looks great. Things to check are the water pump, timing belt and tensioner. Yes there are many posts on the crayon smell. Something about the carpet padding.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. I'll let one of the techs check those things at work. And my crayon smell is starting to fade away. I think my body spray is mixing with it, because its starting to smell like peppermint.

·