VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi gang. Newbie here. Just bought an '03 GLS Cabro for my daughter. Just joined the Forum last night; this is my first post. Love, Love, Love these Forums. They can be so helpful and fun.

Anyway, both of the headlights have condensation in them and are in semi-rough shape. I'm looking to replace both of the entire units (housings, lens, bulbs, etc.). However, I am not sure how to determine if I have the Halogen set-up or the Xenons. I've done a little shopping online and found huge discrepancies in the pricing. I've searched this Forum in an effort to get my answer. Unfortunately, I came up empty. It seems that many other members have touched on this point, but I just failed to get my answer.

I look forward to your replies and working with everyone in the future!

pokerjarvis

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well, I've continued to sniff around the Forum, as well as other spots online. I think I've found my answer, or at least, I hope so. As far as I can tell, these Beetles come stock with Halogens. And, until/unless a mod is done to go to HID, we have Halogens.

If this aint right, please speak up.

I can't believe that somewhere in this massive owner's manual, this is not addressed. I was simply looking for a bulb-replacement chart....

·
Imbugd - 99 1.8t
114 Posts
Ahh the joys of VW manuals.. I have the owners, haynes service, an bentley service, and still come out with a lot of missing info for just about every project. They are essential, but so are these forums.