NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am thinking to convert my halogen low beams to HID with Ballast Converter Kit (around $34 for both HID bulbs and Ballast Kit on Ebay)

Is it safe to switch to HID with Ballast Kit? Do I need the relay harness for this?
Safe meaning no error codes, no wires burned out, long lasting....

I have 2006 VW Beetle Convertible 2.5L Gas.
I heard some people used H1 for low beam on this model and some said they used H7.

Which one is the correct size?

Thank you very much for the help.

·
Premium Member
4,753 Posts
Your '06, by the book is an H7, but as this was right at the change, it's possible some early '06s got out with H1s, I can't say for sure.

I'm no expert om HIDs (actually have no use for aftermarket HIDs, except to hate the driver's who put them in their vehicles, serving no purpose other than to blind the rest of us), but it is my understanding they use less energy, not more, but a relay kit, regardless, is a good idea, even if it's for your stock headlights (brighter light - the reason your fogs use relays)
Relays: WHY AND HOW TO UPGRADE YOUR
HEADLAMP CIRCUIT
http://dsl.torque.net/images/Relays.pdf

If your simply trying to improve your nighttime vision, a better halogen bulb may be a better solution - thread search Oshram, you want to read about the Euro Oshrams and for H7s the Euro Philips X-treme Vision or Oshram Night Breakers. Here's an excellent source for the bulbs (reasonably priced and quick ship)
Car Bulbs, Headlight Bulbs, Xenon Bulbs from Philips and Osram, Philips Xtreme Power, Osram NightBreaker globes - Powerbulbs.

Read accolades about Euro halogen bulbs here-
http://newbeetle.org/forums/parts-accessories/52075-oshram-v-oshram-sylvania-bulbs.html?highlight=oshram
Or here-
VWVortex.com - Best headlight replacement