NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I just got my license and I'm looking for a car. I read that Beetle's are great first cars and I've been in love with them for ever. I really want one but my family is trying to discourage me. Basically what they're saying is that they are cute, but won't last long because I'll be buying a used one. Also that they'll be no good in the snow, I live in PA.

I still really want one though. So I have some questions for you experts.

I was looking at this one on craiglist: Volkswagen Beetle - 1998 (Black)

It's a 1998 for $2,400 and it has 141,xxx miles.
Is that too many? How many miles should I be looking for on a used bug?
How long do they last?

I have zero knowledge of anything so I need like a buyers guide or something, anything that you think I should know before I purchase one.

(Sorry if this is in the wrong place, first time being here)

·
Apprentice Org-aholic!
1,470 Posts
Welcome to the Org, glad you want to see yourself in a Beetle. Your parents arent to far from the truth. Sadly. This '98 may need almost 2000+ coming up in its life.
Reasons:
1) 141k on a VW is not a lot. She is just getting broken in. That said, she does need some engine work. The if the Timing Belt/Water pump/tensioner hasnt been replaced, she is on borrowed time.
2) It is a first generation auto. These transmissions have a high failure rate.

However, these round beauties are surprisingly great in the snow -I live in MinneSNOWta!
This one looks to be in VERY good shape, and well loved.
The 2.0 is a fairly reliable engine, though tends to be a tad under powered.

Before I bought my N00ber, I was told to look for a 2002+. I have had good luck with mine, aside from a nonstart issue(annoyingly simple fix!)

Never know, you may have very good luck with her. Make sure you ask them about the timing belt and water pump, and take it for a thorough test drive to test the shifting.

Best of luck! :)

·