NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, well my wife has owned a 1999 Beetle since it first came out and now I'm driving it cuz she has the kid-mobile (i.e. minivan). I just had an O2 sensor changed for $350 and I think I've had enough of outside mechanics so I'm going to try to do some basic maintenance myself (yeah I guess better late than never). I already have most of equipment (e.g. jack and stands cuz I change the tires on the minivan).

So just wanted to say "Hi" to everyone and apologize first for stupid questions as I'm really a car noob. I've already read a lot on the forum including the newbie guide, but I'll definitely have more questions soon. In the meantime Happy Holidays to everyone.

·
5/23/10 <3
10,920 Posts
If you are doing things DIY now, you'll want to pick yourself up a Bentley Service manual for the car. Best manual you will buy!

·
Registered
4,271 Posts
Hi all, well my wife has owned a 1999 Beetle since it first came out and now I'm driving it cuz she has the kid-mobile (i.e. minivan). I just had an O2 sensor changed for $350 and I think I've had enough of outside mechanics so I'm going to try to do some basic maintenance myself (yeah I guess better late than never). I already have most of equipment (e.g. jack and stands cuz I change the tires on the minivan).

So just wanted to say "Hi" to everyone and apologize first for stupid questions as I'm really a car noob. I've already read a lot on the forum including the newbie guide, but I'll definitely have more questions soon. In the meantime Happy Holidays to everyone.
Welcome and "Merry Christmas" and a Happy New Year to you as well!
The only stupid question is the one that hasn't been asked. ;) So don't be shy and ask away.

I do second the suggestion of Smileybug to get a Bently Publishing Repair Manual. A lot better than Haynes which doesn't show a fraction of the detail that the Bentley shows.