NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Lost My Ever Lovin Mind
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, My name is Melissa, I am a new driver, for my first car i really want a new beetle, i'm looking at a 1999 that needs a few things done as of paint and the front bumper. but i am VARY VARY worried, everyone i talk to says that if i got into an accident going over 10mph in my dream car id die, i am already scared to death to wreck, but that just pushes it over the edge, so i came on here to ask actual owners, how safe is this car if i got into an accident?, i love this car but i don't want to die for it. id love any help you can give me, I've loved these cars sense i was a little girl. thanks a bunch Melissa<3

·
5/23/10 <3
10,918 Posts
These are pretty safe cars. Front and side airbags. My parents were really sold on getting me my '99 over 6 years ago when they went to a dealer and saw a 'vert that had been rolled. All 4 people in the car walked away with just bumps and bruises. I trust this car entirely.

What mileage and transmission on the car? Any maintenance history? Whats up with the bumper?

·
Lost My Ever Lovin Mind
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
its an automatic but has 1 2 and 3rd to, the bumper the bottom bar under the fog lights is broken someone backed into it, it just got the motor serviced, as far as i know its been well maintained, it has 150k miles on it although

·
Lost My Ever Lovin Mind
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thank you both so much, i am existed about getting one again, i'm already looking at what i want to add here and there, the liner in the roof and door is coming off anyways so i'm going to make it all me lol, ill get pics of her later and post them, were going to submit the paper work, i cant wait:D

·
Super Moderator
20,813 Posts
Hi Melissa:wave2:

Welcome to the org family- glad to have you a part of the collective:)

Like everyone said, the beetle is a very safe car.