VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
First Car! Emil!
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I'm not sure if this is the right area to post this but I need help & fast!

I have speed bumps at my school and every time I go over them (straight on) there's
a grinding noise. If I go over it side ways it doesn't scratch!

What I'm wondering is, WHAT IS SCRATCHING?

When I change the oil the undercarriage looks great and unscratched (to my knowledge,
I'm no mechanic though) my bumper (which I just got repainted 2 months ago) is still in mint condition so it's not that but I've noticed that my mudflaps (is that the right word?) is pretty scratched up- it also looks alot lower than anything else on my car..so is that scratching?

Because if it's just my mudflaps it's not such a serious deal as if it's my oil pan or something
(not saying my mudflaps aren't imporant but, ya know)

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

·
5/23/10 <3
11,353 Posts
Are you sure its a scrape and not more of a squeak? I know my front suspension always made a noise going over speed bumps. I guess I could describe it as a scrapey-squeak kind of sound.

·
First Car! Emil!
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Are you sure its a scrape and not more of a squeak? I know my front suspension always made a noise going over speed bumps. I guess I could describe it as a scrapey-squeak kind of sound.

It's not that because when I go over the newer smoother speed bumps it doesn't make any noise at all.
Plus I've heard my suspension squeak and I know the noise you're talking about, and it's not that.

Thank you for the idea though :)

·
Where is home ....
11,016 Posts
Not 100% sure what it is ... but, I have the hard plastic mud flaps from VW by all four wheels. They scrape when I go over tall bumps straight on but not when I go sideways. Perhaps that IS what you are hearing. ??

·
First Car! Emil!
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·