NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
"SunShine" 01 1.8T 5sp.
1,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am the new mommy to sunshine owned by vwgary and need some help.. I am new to the 1.8T so here are my few questions.. First.. I have replaced her MAF meter and she is still hesitating and has stalled a few times. No lights so no clue whats going on.. What grade of gas is recommened? I have been putting 93 in her.. And Oil? Thanks everyone :D

·
Registered
14,086 Posts
If you can get the car scanned (most auto parts stores will do this for free or take it to a vw repair shop); please post what trouble codes are coming up on the scanner.

The fuel recommended should be a minimum 91 RON premium fuel(look at the sticker on the inside of the fuel door; the info is located there).

Oil; Full synthetic is recommended; ideally, a brand/type that fulfills VW specifications. Specifically: VW 502 00 Oil Specification; typically, the oil will state on the bottle that it meets the VW 502 00 oil spec. I usually; decide on a brand I like, then go to their website to see which oil meets that specification. Mobil 1 is usually easy to find at most auto parts stores; this particular one meets the 502 specs:

Mobil 1 0W-40 (European Car Formula in North America) synthetic oil

http://www.mobiloil.com/USA-English/MotorOil/Oils/Mobil_1_0W-40.aspx

·
5/23/10 <3
11,172 Posts
Agreed, get the car scanned. Just because there isn't a check engine light, doesn't mean there aren't any codes.

·
squirreljuice
388 Posts
Another idea is the fuel pump is on its way out. Get that checked, as that can cause the hesitation and stalling. I know mine is on its way out. I have stalled several times in the past week (once while driving on the highway!). Mine is definitely getting replaced here soon. Clogged fuel filter or lines can cause the same problem.

·
"SunShine" 01 1.8T 5sp.
1,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #6