NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm Dianne from Ontario, Canada. I have wanted a Beetle my entire life but know nothing about cars. When the New Beetles came out in 1998 I was in love. I test drove one and my husband insisted that a Corolla would be a more practical car. :( Since then I've had my share of minivans, crossovers and school buses (I'm a school bus driver). I'm a married mom and foster mom who's always last in line to get anything. Now I'm being a little greedy. I'm turning 40 this year and I'm scraping up a little money to buy my very first Beetle. The primary use for my Bug will be to drive around (maybe doing errands) with none of the other 6 people that live in my house in it. :p I'm totally nervous about buying a used car so I'm looking forward to everyone's tips.

·
Super Moderator
14,783 Posts
You go! :p

I, too, fell in love with them in 1998. But, it was only 2002 before I got my first one. :)

If you can, avoid automatics. They tend to be problematic. Go with a manual.

Also, the newer, the better. After the 2005 year, they changed a bit. Pre 2005, look much like each other, with a few changes. If you find one you like, make sure that it has been properly maintained.

Most of all, Have fun with your search! Trust me, the right one will "call out" to you. :wink2:

Welcome to the the gang! :wave2:

·
tim
62 Posts
welcome to the org., your just across the boarder from me. my advice on a buying is to take your time and look, check out, several beetles before you buy. then decide, good luck shopping!! let us know what you get , we all love pictures!!!!!

·
Premium Member
3,454 Posts
Welcome to the great and wonderful ORG! Many fantastic cars, people and answers lurk in this great land. If you haven't done so already, take time to fill in your profile and post a few photos so we can ORGle them!!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5