NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
An Air-Cooled Fan, Too!
504 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At least in 1st and 2nd gears, it seems to have pretty peppy pickup. I'm a newbie and have just had my '99 5 spd. since Sept. 6th, but have been pleasantly surprised by the way VW has "geared it" for good performance for a relatively small, non-blown 4 banger. Mind you, it's no drag racer, but yet seems to have more than adequate acceleration for most traffic demands. If I'm this impressed by the 2.0 with only 115 h.p., I can only imagine how "torquie" the new 2.5 is with it's 150 h.p. and 170 ft. lbs....:D

·
Premium Member
1,672 Posts
I was surprised also by the acceleration. I also have only had mine a short time. I wasn't sure what to expect not having driven a NB before owning it. And I certainly like the mpg coming out of a SUV. :D

·
Premium Member
3,650 Posts
Drop about 2oz of Acetone into a full tank -- it gets even peppier. (Look for my reports in the Acetone thread for more details)

·
Poopship Destroyer
12,736 Posts
I have a 2.0 automatic. I only have trouble on hills with pickup. Any other time i'm first off the line. If you take out your spare tire and all that weight in the back yer even quicker. But leave your carpet in the back or it's kinda noisy.

john

·
Premium Member
5,028 Posts
I 100% disagree with you on the spare tire doing anything ;)

It's all in your head, as 40-50lbs of rim and tire isn't going to make any difference.

I did find removing the tire did have a negative effect on handling, and the rear-end felt lighter which makes the car feel less stable.

I'd say leave the tire in, and you'll thank yourself next time you get a flat :p

SMG

·
a.k.a. porkchopzz4
890 Posts
SMG said:

It's all in your head, as 40-50lbs of rim and tire isn't going to make any difference.

I did find removing the tire did have a negative effect on handling, and the rear-end felt lighter which makes the car feel less stable.