NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow Beetle brothers an sisters,
First my name is Allen an i am new to the VW World. I have a 2001 VW Beetle 1.8T Gas 5 Speed manual trans.

Problem that has my head spinning an looking for the correct answers. I have been all over the forms an see the same issues just need pointers.

When i put my key into stage 2 (non start) position the fans come on non stop on like TURBO SPEED even when bone cold. The fans stay on unil the key is turned off. I have changed the Coolant Temperature Sensor (Part #357919369F) the other forms had suggested as a sure pointed problem an have had no luck fan still at constant turbo speed from the point the key is turned on till the point its switched off..

PLEASE HELP!:confused::confused: I don't want to burn up the fans or the battery fuse box!

Thanks,
Beetle Juice

·
Registered
3,690 Posts
Assuming the fan(s) control circuit is similar across most years, the fan(s) should not run when the key is turned on unless the AC control is on so the AC button on the dash is lit.

There are a few sensors for the fan control as I recall, I am not 100% an expert (not bothered to dive into the fan control system and figure it out as I have not run into a lot of problems with it), however, what I do know is there is a sensor in the radiator on the drivers side of the tank, there is a sensor toward the front of the car in the upper radiator hose Y adapter if the car has this and the actual coolant sensors is near the back of the engine compartment on the driver site in the plastic housing that bolts to the cylinder head. Not all engines are configured exactly the same, but this is how mine is set up.