VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so about a month ago I bought my daughter an 06 New Beetle and everything was running great. Well on Christmas Eve the battery light came on and it dies. Got it started and took it to a local (non VW) shop and they said it appears to be the alternator. Ok so here I go changing the alternator, got it all changed and still only getting 11.5 or less at the battery. Ok so we thought bad alternator and replaced it well still getting the same. Basically it's not charging and the battery and alternator are new and both have been load tested. Now I am new to VWs so I am stuck now with a new battery and alternator and it still won't charge....anyone have any advice?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmm...will have to check that out, but don't think it is the ground since we ran a another ground to test it. However at this point I will check anything that anyone say. Thank you for any and all advice.

·
Super Moderator
14,840 Posts
Altenator wire from the fuse block to the altenator? This was my issue.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
So took the bug to VW today and they are saying that it is still the alternator. I guess you have to put genuine VW alternators in these things. And of course they have to be crazy expensive.

·
Certified Arcade Tech
416 Posts
It's not that you HAVE to use a factory brand new/factory rebuilt alternator. It's the fact that a lot of the aftermarket rebuilds on the market suck.

(call it like I see it)

That being said? All kinds of possible issues other then the alternator-- Bad grounds and wiring issues. At least if the sealership replaces it, and it fails to correct the issue? They will be the ones on the hook to figure things out.

S-

·
Diesel Freak
596 Posts
I guarantee its the alternator... get an OEM Bosch from an online retailer and call it a day.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·