NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
BugGirl86
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all-

I just bought a new TDI beetle about a month ago. This is the first time having a TDI and I am still learning about them. Right now, my boyfriend and I are trying to get better mileage with the TDI- so far it only gets about 33 mpg city and up to 40 mpg hwy. I will be cruising the forums pretty frequently to get more info about TDIs... :cool:

·
Worry less, drive more
4,270 Posts
First, welcome to the org!! :)

Has your timing belt and water pump been replaced on schedule? If not, replace it and make sure you get a water pump with a metal impeller. As far as mileage goes, do you have an auto or manual transmission? An auto doesn't get as good mpg. You could also try replacing the fuel filter or switching fuel stations. Cold weather and winterized diesel fuel can make it go down too.

Have fun in your new bug.

·
BugGirl86
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hey CoriBug-

Yup, the timing belt, water pump, etc was just replaced. I think the filters will be next to be replaced. Unfortunately the car wasn't cared for very well before we bought it and the previous owners did not know how to care for TDIs either :(

It is an automatic too.

Anyone know what kind of mileage I can expect, assuming we change the filters and get the car in good working order???

·
Banned
1,583 Posts
Check the tube that goes into the turbo, for cracks, splits or leaks at the part it connects. Check or change out the fuel sensor as these are cheap and often fail on all TDi's. Although your mileage sounds about right for a TDi. They're shaped like bricks and not aerodynamic ;) Just full of Love :D

·
BugGirl86
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Since you bought a diesel you may want to check out www.tdiclub.com.It is a forum for VW diesels,lots of good info there and some really good people.
I checked out that forum. It seems a bit smaller than this one but a lot of good info nonetheless.

·