NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
All this & I can cook too
482 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is a mod I have been wanting to do to BeetleJuice for a while now. I did this to my truck awhile back and it has been very handy. This is the kind of mod that can really save you when you need it. Few things are worse than being broken down in the middle of nowhere and having to fumble around under the hood in the dark. Total cost is somewhere between $12 and $15. I had some miscellaneous electrical items already that prevented me from buying more materials, so I would guess that on the high end the project could cost about $20. I should preface by saying that I am NOT an electrician and I used what I consider to be basic common sense when doing this – if anyone wants to repeat this project do your research first, just in case I made a novice error and overlooked something.

What I used for the project:

2 LED strip lights, the waterproof flat type.

Primary wire – so long as it is similar in size to the wires on the lights it will work fine. I used old copper speaker wire.

In-line fuse holder with a 10A fuse. I used a 10A fuse because I have a lot of them and it worked…

Wire strippers/crimpers

12v automotive switch. I used the round LED illuminated type.

Electrical tape

Misc electrical connectors, spade type, O-ring and butt-type connectors.

Corrugated electrical looming – not shown. It is the black accordion looking tube with a slit down the side.

Two (no less) cups of Target brand Donut Shop coffee.

Beastie Boys playing on smartphone.

Also you will notice a red battery pack in the first photo. I scavenged this off of an old swivel-sweeper vacuum and kept the battery pack and charger. Whenever I am experimenting with LED projects, I use the battery pack to test the lights and all of the connections. I am a tinkerer, not a professional electrician – but I haven’t burned anything down. Yet…

Attachments

·
482 Posts
Discussion Starter #2