NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
out in the sandbox
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I'm a soon-to-be NB 'vert person ("yellow kitty" is in production!)and I'm curious about what 'vert people do when it comes to locking up the car---do you bother to do it at all? I figure just keep anything worth anything out of the car and don't lock it since I assume someone could easily rip the roof if they wanted something badly enough, but I'm new at this. Would love to hear from experienced on the issue.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
2,717 Posts
Well, I do it like this. I keep no valuable items in view. Nothing at all. My iPod cable stays on the floor (it's black), and other than that, you can't see anything that's different from a showroom model. Any valuables would stay in the glovebox or trunk, which I do lock. And yes, I do lock the cars... if people can slip in without any hassle, they will. ;) Most thieves will pass if it takes a little longer to get in (more time for them to get caught).

I also recommend either tinting the windows or adding security film (especially to the back glass and side windows).

-Des

·
Super Moderator
14,714 Posts
If some heathen wants in, he will get in. There's not a lot you can do about him.

What you can do is what Des suggested. Do not keep anything in your car that can be seen. Hide everything from view. Keep your car as if it was in the showroom. If a crook doesn't see anything, he will likely pass up your car for one full of "goodies".

I am often guilty of leaving things in my car, but never valuables. A jacket, newspaper, umbrella. But never "valuables", such as cell phone, purse (NEVER!!), CDs, mail. Yes, mail! So much private info in there. Never keep mail, or anything with your name on it, in your car. Lock up your registration and insurance info in the glovebox. Sure, a crook could probably wrench the glovebox door open if he wanted. But, if he doesn't see anything in the first place......;)