NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the idea of this chipping my car. I have heard that you can get a chip that will increase your horsepower by quite a bit. I have been searching for a little bit and i have stumbled across this:

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE GF Performance Chip

Is this something I should consider? like I said I am new to this and I need good advice. I am willing to spend more money if the brand is better quality, so if you find something better and more spendy I don't mind. Any suggestions would be great. [/B]

·
5/23/10 <3
11,095 Posts
You don't want a chip. Anything marketing themselves like that is garbage. What you want is a tune (which is often called chipping, since that used to be how tuning was done years ago - an actual chip on the ECU). There are a lot of great tuners out there. Unitronic (which is what I have on my GTI), APR, Revo, and GIAC are the biggest names. Each of them should have a website with a link for you to find your nearest dealer (not a dealership, but a facility authorized by the tuner to load the tunes on your car for you. My mechanic, for example, is a Unitronic dealer).

There are different stages of tunes. Each stage gives you more power but you'll often need supporting mods. Since you are at the beginning of this, I wouldn't recommend higher than Stage 1+, Stage 1 is probably even fine. But research each company and tune and price. APR is the most expensive, followed by Unitronic. Not sure on the other two. But all tunes aren't equal for sure. But its all subjective really.

Good luck!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Best Tune?

So who has the best tune for the guy that's going to slap a 3" down pipe, exhaust and an intake on a 2000 1.8T Beetle?

LM

·
Registered
8 Posts