NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I am not a car expert, at all. I can do some things but not a lot. I've always wanted a Beetle. I bought one in Florida almost three years ago and drove it home to Texas. It worked fine when I bought it and made the trip home without incident.

Almost as soon as I got it home, lots of little things happened -- the glove box handle broke off, the button to lower the electric convertible top broke through the plastic in the console, the driver's side headlight FELL OUT, most of the driver's side door panel has broken off.

If I were handy, I don't think any of these problems would be a big deal but since I'm not, they either don't get fixed or I pay someone to fix them. I love my Beetle (I've named her Myrtle). Myrtle still has low miles and runs great.

Are my experiences normal? I've read these posts and see where a lot of them have happened to others but all at the same time?

Thanks for any insight you can give me.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Beetles are notorious for having brittle hardware on the inside. My glove box also had the same issue and I just went out and replaced the whole glovebox. As for the doors I'd recommend taking the panels off and refurbishing. I will include a link to a piece that I found particularly helpful when I did my doors. Beetlebrace
That's all the insight I can offer but don't worry about "not being handy" interior work is do-able by most anyone as a lot of it is held together with plastic clips. Hope this is helpful!

·
Registered
555 Posts
Do a search of this site you will find your experience is quite common to all VW’s. The good news is many of the fixes are very simple and easy.

Tune my euro has a section devoted to common repair items.

Tdiclub has a DIY section for many things related to diesels but almost all the interior, suspension and much of the electrical is the same across the MK4 platform, Beetle, Golf and Jetta.

·
Registered