VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I just purchased my 2003 Beetle 2 months ago. It has 161,000 miles I have been driving it around town to and from work for 2 months. Last weekend I took it on a long trip about 215 miles (3 hours of driving) one way. Once I got about 70 miles from my destination it began to misfire at speeds over 75mph+. Once I slowed down, got off the interstate or drove it under hard acceleration it was okay. It has been okay driving to and from work all week. However I am planning on taking another long trip this week for work. Could it just need a tune up or is it something more serious failing. The timing belt was changed before the trip. Thanks

·
Registered
15,841 Posts
Which engine and transmission is the car; in question? I would scan the car for trouble codes; post them here. The trouble codes; hopefully, will give you some direction in your investigation into the problem. I would have the fuel system tested for correct fuel pressure; to see if it is possibly a fuel delivery problem. Lately, it seems around here; allot of original fuel pumps are failing on therese high mileage, older cars. Seems misfires; come down to either ignition or fuel delivery: with testing, troubleshooting, you need to narrow down the possibilities, through a process of elimination. Give us more info about your car and any trouble codes, we will go from there.

·
Registered
3,690 Posts
If your car has a turbo engine, good spark plugs and proper plug gap (which is traditionally narrower than non turbo engines) is the first most important part of this equation.

As mentioned, if the SES/CEL/MIL came on, scanning for DTC/Diagnostic Trouble Codes is important for clues. Even if there are not DTC's, often like data like Fuel Trim info can be a good indicator as to what may be going on.

Start with a lower cost OBDII smart phone/tablet app.