NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, thank you for taking a sec to stop and read the thread. Any and all input will be greatly appreciated. In the back ground story, I have a 2001 1.8T that I gave to my g/f to drive as her daily. The tags expire at end of October, so I told her I will need to take it for a couple days to get inspection and emissions work done. She decided to wait till now to let me know it had a CEL on. I took it to Autozone to get a quick scan and ended up with 4 total codes.. P0411, P0300, P0301, P0171. Mind you I deal with investment banking as a job but enjoy tinkering with cars and have for years, though I am no mechanic. Anyways, I did my basic online research and at this point am narrowing my field to being a vacuum issue. I pulled out air box and checked all vacuum lines I can see. Shy of getting a smoke test done, I don't see any issues in lines. My next thought was to test EGR(Kombi Valve) to see if the plunger is stuck as well as replace the PCV. I just wanted to see before I dump cash I don't really have right now, into this issue, if I am going in the right direction or if anyone has ever seen all of these codes pull for a diff reason? Any advise?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh, I forgot to mention while I had the air box out I went ahead and pulled the MAF and it was clean as a whistle... don't know if that info helps

·
5/23/10 <3
11,173 Posts
You may have several issues going on. The P0411 code is for the secondary air system. That could have a leak or the pump could be having problems: 16795/P0411/001041 - Ross-Tech Wiki

The p0300 and p0301 deal with misfires. Could need some new coil packs or spark plugs.

The p0171 could be the MAF.

Is the car running poorly at all? Also, mileage?

·
Registered
3,690 Posts
Slow down a bit here.