NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Ace Bug Pilot
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Maybe it's just me, but, it's seems like the NB is either snubbed or being ignored in magazines. Mags like VW Trends or European Tuner very rarely have anything mentioning the NB. Why? I'm new to the VW NB seen but I would have expected to see more exposure with people customizing them or tuning them in the mags. It's been out since '98. Am I missing something? :confused:

·
Super Moderator
14,715 Posts
It's not just you. We are snubbed by everone, but NewBeetle.org.:(

Your car won't be in EuroTuner, unless it's uber-modded. And, then, it will be in the "Readers Rides" section. :mad:

·
Registered
5,793 Posts
I guess it's cause it's a "girls car" or some rubbish.

Whatever. It's got style, from the factory; hella lot better lookin' than a gti or a jetta; but it still doesn't get the recognition.

And when a bug DOES get recognition? It's a purple/yellow/orange/green creation with a killer paint job, lambo doors, chrome lights, a new antenna, and a p-flo intake. It's really lame being on the short end of the stick.

·
Poopship Destroyer
12,736 Posts
You got that right. I love all beetles, every one of them. Everyone secretly admires the Beetle, but so few have this belief that because it's so curvy that somehow it's femme. I see it quite the opposite. I see it as youthful and certainly unique. I still remember the first time i saw a 98. I knew i'd own one. Yeah i had to wait like 4 years, but whatever.

Eurotuner is so damn biased it's not even funny. All the euro mags are so into the GTI/R32 scene it's almost sickening. Not that i don't like those cars, but there's other models that have just as large a following. Doesn't Japan have a NB magazine or did that vanish as well?