NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I did it.

Seems the timing belt on my '04 jumped a sprocket due to a bad tensioner at about 75mph. The valves left a real neat impression on a couple of the pistons. Anyway the fella working on the car only works on VW's and definitely knows his stuff.
His opinion is to swap out the motor.

I'd appreciate any recommendations anyone might have as to where to get a good used motor with around 30K miles on it.

Any help would be appreciated.

thanks, trshman

·
Registered
100 Posts

·
I'm not a dude.
1,230 Posts
Used 1.8L turbo-engines are available for around $1700-$2200 from AutoMotix:

Complete 1.8L turbo-engines are available at GEX:

I have no first-hand experience with any of these vendors, I've just seen them mentioned in earlier queries for replacement 1.8L turbo-engines... :cool:

Good luck!

My new 1.8 came from GEX. I'm at about 50k miles with no issues, other than the issues that came with the motor when it first got put in (The first time they fired it up, not only did it have a nasty oil leak, but coolant and oil were coming from some lines near the top of the turbo. They ended up pulling the turbo and found a copper washer was missing or something. Re-sealing the oil pan stopped the oil leak. Oh, and the oil cooler was bent, probably from storage/transporting it, but no big deal. My old one worked just fine.)

It came complete with everything. And honestly I'm really surprised I've had zero issues motor wise. So all in all, I'm happy.

Do get the warranty though if you buy from them, in case there are any issues like mine that could've come from being in storage or something. The warranty ended up covering parts and labor for the oil pan and turbo fiasco. Totally worth it.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #5